KEY CONCEPTS

TERMBASES

The Happiness of Confucius and Yan Hui

This term means the happiness and contentment of Confucius(551-479 BC) and Yan Hui(a disciple of Confucius, 521-481 BC). The happiness of Confucius and Yan Hui is a mental outlook admired and advocated by Confucian scholars, especially by Song and Ming Neo-Confucianists. Most people do not want to put up with poverty, but poor material conditions could not keep Confucius and Yan Hui from maintaining a happy state of mind. The expression “Happiness of Confucius and Yan Hui” embodies an inner joy and happiness obtained from the transcending of material desires and from the profound understanding and quest for principles of heaven and ethical principles.

CITATION
1

Confucius said: “If I have coarse grain to eat, cold water to drink, and my bended arm for a pillow, there is joy to be found in these things. Riches and honors acquired by unrighteous means are like floating clouds to me.”

CITATION
2

Confucius said: “Virtuous indeed is Yan Hui! He has simple meals, just drinks cold water, and lives in a humble lane. While others would find such living unbearable, Yan Hui remains cheerful. What a virtuous man!”

TAGS:

登录 中文

术语库

TERMBASES

分类:
专辑:第六辑 | 学科:哲学

孔颜之乐(

孔子(前551-前479)、颜回(前521-前481)的自得之。“孔颜之”是儒家尤其是宋明理学家所推崇的一种精神境界往往不堪忍受贫困的生活,但孔子、颜回却能不受简陋的物质条件的困扰,而保持一种快的精神境界。“孔颜之”体现着对物质求的超越,是在对天理的深刻体认与追求中所获得的一种内在的快与幸福。

引例
1

子曰:“饭疏食,饮水,曲肱而枕之,亦在其中矣。不义而富且贵,于我如浮云。” (孔子说:“吃粗粮,喝冷水,弯着手臂做枕头,也能感受到其中的快。靠不正当的做获得富贵,在我看来就像浮云一样。”)

引例
2

子曰:“贤哉,回也!一箪食,一瓢饮,在陋巷,不堪其忧,回也不改其。贤哉回也!” (孔子说:“颜回真是有贤德啊!一筐饭食,一瓢饮水,居住在简陋的巷子里,别都忍受不了这种忧,颜回却不改变自己的快。颜回真是有贤德啊!”)

相关词条